Grammarly Alternative
Grammarly is mainly a writing assistant that also checks for AI text and plagiarism and offers a humanizer and a paraphraser. Here it stands beside Blurwrite on those tools: what each costs, what the free tier covers, where Grammarly is ahead and where Blurwrite works differently.
The short version
Choose Grammarly if you want a writing assistant inside your browser, Word, Google Docs and phone, with a plagiarism check against web pages and ProQuest papers on Pro. Choose Blurwrite if AI detection is the main job: it runs in 13 languages, each calibrated on its own texts, a mark on every sentence comes with a confidence rating, and the false positive rate on non-native writing is published per language.
The differences that decide it
- A writing assistant or a detector. Grammarly corrects and rewrites as you type across browsers, desktop apps and phones, with AI detection and plagiarism on Pro. Blurwrite is built around the detector, with a humanizer, a paraphraser, a summarizer and a grammar checker beside it.
- Which languages you check. Grammarly gives writing suggestions in English and 24 other languages and humanizes in six, but does not state which languages its AI detector reads. Blurwrite detects in 13 languages, each calibrated on its own texts.
- How accuracy is reported. Grammarly states its own claim of 99 percent detection accuracy and first place on the RAID benchmark. Blurwrite publishes measured figures per language, including the false positive rate on writing by non-native speakers.
Grammarly vs Blurwrite
| Feature | Grammarly | Blurwrite |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | A free AI detector, humanizer and paraphraser on their website, and a free account with 100 AI prompts a month. AI detection and plagiarism inside the Grammarly apps need Pro. | One run a day on the detector, the humanizer, the paraphraser and the summarizer, no card: the detector reads the first 250 words, the humanizer the first 150. |
| Price | Pro at 12 US dollars a month billed yearly (144 a year), or 30 monthly. | From 6.99 USD a month billed yearly, or 9.99 USD monthly. |
| Words and credits | No word allowance for AI detection is published. Pro includes 2,000 AI prompts a month. | 50,000 to 300,000 AI detection words a month by plan (10,000 a check), plus 10,000 to 50,000 humanizer words a month, and word packs on top. |
| Languages | Writing suggestions in English and 24 other languages; humanizer and paraphraser in 6. Languages for AI detection are not published. | 13 languages, each calibrated on its own texts. |
| Accuracy figures published | Yes, as their own claim: 99 percent detection accuracy and first place on the RAID benchmark. They add that no AI detector is 100 percent accurate. | Yes, measured figures per language on the accuracy page, with the false positive rate on non-native writing. |
| Sentence marks | Yes, a percentage of text that appears AI-generated, with the questionable text underlined. | Yes, a mark on every sentence and a confidence rating, never a verdict. |
| Humanizer | Yes, a free basic humanizer, a Humanizer agent with a free account, and the full version on Pro. A paraphraser too. | Yes, with a paraphraser and summarizer, in the same plan. |
| API | Yes, an AI Detection API in beta, for admins with Enterprise or Education institution-wide licenses. No public price. | Yes, on Pro, using the plan's own words. |
| Plagiarism check | Yes, on Pro, against over 16 billion web pages and academic papers in ProQuest's databases. | Coming soon, not live yet. |
Grammarly and Blurwrite prices
Grammarly
- Pro12 USD
Per month, billed yearly. Monthly: 30 USD.
AI detection, plagiarism check, full-sentence rewrites, tone adjustment and 2,000 AI prompts a month
- EnterpriseNo public price
Quoted through sales
Everything in Pro, unlimited AI prompts, SAML single sign-on, data loss prevention, BYOK encryption and dedicated support
Blurwrite
- Basic6.99 USD
Per month, billed yearly. Monthly: 9.99 USD.
50,000 AI detection, 10,000 humanizer and 10,000 paraphraser words, 20 style checks a day
- Plus9.99 USD
Per month, billed yearly. Monthly: 19.99 USD.
150,000 AI detection, 25,000 humanizer and 25,000 paraphraser words, 30 style checks a day
- Pro12.99 USD
Per month, billed yearly. Monthly: 29.99 USD.
300,000 AI detection, 50,000 humanizer and 50,000 paraphraser words, 40 style checks a day, API access
Where Grammarly is ahead
- A full writing assistant: grammar, tone and full-sentence rewrites as you type, with AI detection on top.
- It works where you write: browser extensions, Windows and Mac apps, Microsoft Office, Google Docs, iPhone, iPad and Android.
- A plagiarism check you can use today on Pro, against over 16 billion web pages and ProQuest academic papers.
- Writing suggestions in English and 24 other languages.
- Team and institution features: SSO, admin controls, style guides and analytics, used by over 50,000 organizations by their count.
What Blurwrite does differently
- Detection words in every paid plan, 50,000 to 300,000 a month, and 10,000 words a check.
- A separate calibration for every language offered, and the false positive rate on non-native writing published per language.
- A mark on every sentence and a confidence rating, never a single verdict.
- A humanizer, a paraphraser, a summarizer and a grammar checker in the same plan as the detector.
- API access on Pro, from 12.99 USD a month billed yearly.
Which one fits your work
Choose Grammarly if
you mainly want help writing, want suggestions in your browser, Word and Google Docs, or need a plagiarism check now.
Choose Blurwrite if
AI detection is the main job, you check text in languages other than English, or you need to know how often a detector misreads non-native writing.
Questions before you choose
Is Blurwrite a good Grammarly alternative?
It is if AI detection is what you need most: Blurwrite detects in 13 languages, each calibrated on its own texts, and publishes its accuracy per language. If you want a writing assistant across your apps or a plagiarism check today, Grammarly has both and ours is still being built.
Is there a free Grammarly alternative?
Blurwrite has a free tier with no card: one run a day on the detector, the humanizer, the paraphraser and the summarizer, and the detector reads the first 250 words. Grammarly offers a free AI detector, humanizer and paraphraser on its website, and AI detection inside its apps on Pro.
How much does Grammarly Pro cost?
12 US dollars a month billed yearly, which is 144 a year, or 30 billed monthly. It includes AI detection, the plagiarism check and 2,000 AI prompts a month. Enterprise is sold through sales.
Does Blurwrite check for plagiarism?
Not yet. The plagiarism check is coming soon and not live yet. Until then Blurwrite covers AI detection, the humanizer, the paraphraser, the summarizer and the grammar checker.
Which languages do they support?
Grammarly gives writing suggestions in English and 24 other languages and humanizes and paraphrases in 6; it does not state which languages its AI detector reads. Blurwrite detects in 13 languages, each calibrated on its own texts, with the measured figures on the accuracy page.
Other comparisons
Read one text and see for yourself
Paste a text and read it now, free, with no card.
Open the detector